Learning to shut my mouth

During the editing process, I have realised that my number one enemy in filming is my innate ability to ruin clips by making what I can only describe as encouraging grunts. These are the most fiddly things to edit out of footage, as I seem to be quite partial to doing them just after the person I interview finishes speaking. Editing really does make me realise how much more I should hate myself; I have been constantly frustrated by my 2 automated response laughs (either the toddler’s squeal or the Muttley snigger), my inability to listen to an informant without grunting some semi-audible agreement, or the lack of stability in my arthritis-like hands. These are, however, some things that I might be able to change; perhaps by adopting an alter-ego that is capable of filming people without needing to occasionally squeak and moan, and without distancing themselves from the subject through their petty fears and doubts.

Leave a comment